Song of the Fireflies

18189342

“What I want is to be with you. That’s what I want. It’s all I’ve ever wanted.”

Book Rating: 5 out of 5

Goodreads Review:

Since they were kids, Elias Kline and Brayelle Bates have been inseparable. When Bray moves to South Carolina, separating the two for the first time, they both at last realize that their innocent childhood friendship has developed into something much more. So when Bray finally returns to Georgia—and to Elias—things between them couldn’t be more perfect…until one fateful night changes everything.

Desperate not to go to prison for a terrible accident, Elias and Bray decide to run. As they try to make the most of their freedom, the two find themselves relying on a rebellious group of people who tempt the duo into a wild and daring new life. But they can’t run from their troubles forever.

As the consequences of their past catch up to them, the couple must finally face reality. Even if they can make it through the unimaginable, Elias knows the truth about Bray’s painful history, and in the end he may not be able to save Bray from herself…

 

Valeria’s Review:

I absolutely love J.A. Redmerski’s writing! I’ve read four of her books so far and as soon as I’m done reading them, I always want more! Her writing can transport you to a different world and allow you to feel the same emotions that the characters are going through.

When I finished reading this gem, I was in tears! I’m a pretty emotional person, so I cry with just about anything that has to do with romance, books, good movies etc. and this definitely was one of them that had me crying and wishing for that crazy love that one truly desires and looks for. I can tell you that I have never read anything like this, especially when it comes to the love story of Bray and Elias.

They say things happen for a reason, and I think that the ending to their story has a true reason for things happening the way they did. The love and bond that they’ve had since they were kids is unbreakable, no matter the circumstances and difficulties they face along the way.

They seem like the modern Bonnie and Clyde throughout the book because of their loyal companionship through their own difficult times. Especially when it came to Bray. Elias was always there for her no matter what. He would look out for her, when she couldn’t do so herself. and regardless of her past and what she did, he would be there without any judgement towards her whatsoever. He was so in love that he was willing to give up his own life to save hers. That alone is enough to show you how much someone can really love you and care about you the way he did.

With everything that Bray is going through with dealing with her own emotions and sadness, her period of depression and just about everything that had to do with emotional attachment and love; it made me relate to her so much. I felt like I was living her life because of how similar the situation was with me. The fact that she had Elias throughout her most difficult and vulnerable moments made me see that there are people who truly love you and will do anything to make things better for you, however they can.

The whole story hit home with me, so that’s why I absolutely loved it! I highly recommend this book. It’s both emotional and raw, filled with love and pain at the same time. It was such an amazing read, that you won’t want to put it down. I just wish I would’ve read it sooner!

Leave a Reply

