image22

“A sliver of hope sneaks past my walls and I slam every opening shut. Emotion is evil. People who make me feel are worse. I take comfort in the stone inside me. If I don’t feel, I don’t hurt.”

Book Rating: 5 out of 5

Goodreads Book Description:

Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”

“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….

“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

Valeria’s Book Review:

If I had to choose one of my favorite books ever it would definitely have to be DARE YOU TO!!!

I don’t think I have ever fallen in love with a book as much as this one. I had tears streaming down my face when I finished reading it and honestly I wanted more! After I realized that it was really over, that my life was going back to normal after being transported into this story, I went back to my favorite parts and just kept thinking about Beth and Ryan and how much I wanted their love story!

I read this book before Pushing the Limits, the story of Noah and Echo; which I didn’t know at the time that it was the first book in the series but regardless I fell in love with it, not expecting it to turn out the way it did…especially since the story began with just a simple dare!

I absolutely loved Beth and Ryan’s story!

I related so much to Beth since the very beginning and I knew that I would love her because she wasn’t the perfect girl that had her life figured out. She was the complete opposite of that, but nonetheless an amazing character that struggles with her emotions and love, family issues and her feelings when it came to caring about others. Throughout the book I saw a little bit of myself in her, and there were so many similarities that I understood what she was feeling and why she would behave or feel a certain way.

That made me love her even more. She was a badass and a hardcore girl, who didn’t care what anyone thought of her, but deep down you knew she was hiding from her real self.

How many more of us are faking the facade? How many more of us are pretending to be something we’re not? Even better, how many of us will have the courage to be ourselves regardless of what others think?”

Ryan on the other hand is the perfect book boyfriend, who you will fall in love with immediately for his sweet and caring personality. He is no bad boy, quite the gentleman actually, but honestly that alone will do enough damage to your heart. And he’s hot and he plays baseball…so what more could you ask for!?

I love that we get both POV’s throughout the book which allows us to see what each character is feeling. Both Beth and Ryan, who are complete opposites of each other, come together as one, when Ryan chooses his own path and learns how to stand by his own, and Beth learns to trust in others and lets herself be open and loved.

That must be love: when everything else in the world could implode and you wouldn’t care as long as you had that one person standing beside you.”

I’m a sucker for a good love story and there is definitely nothing cliché when it comes to Dare You to! As soon as you get your hands on it you will not want to put it down!

Overall, the book was just AMAZING. The writing is PERFECTION! The whole story was so emotional and beautiful that it had me crying, but also laughing at those cute and funny moments between them two. There were some scenes that both Noah and Echo were present, and I love how they are incorporated into the story somehow!

All of Katie McGarry’s books are amazing, and she really knows how to touch my heart! So this was just another beautiful addition to my favorites list. I’ve read all of her books, but I think that out of all of them Beth and Ryan’s story has to be my absolute favorite!

I highly recommend this book and all of her amazing novels.

              “This overwhelming, encompassing feeling is love. It’s not perfect and it’s messy as hell. And it’s exactly what I need.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

