The Edge of Never

16081272

“Heart always wins out over the mind. The heart, although reckless and suicidal and a masochist all on its own, always gets its way.”  -J.A. Redmerski, The Edge of Never

Book Rating: 5 out of 5

Goodreads Book Description:

Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.

Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she’s ever known, far behind.

With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.

But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she’d do. He shows her what it’s really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desires. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew’s dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?

Valeria’s Book Review:

Camryn and Andrew…the most perfect book couple in my eyes to have ever made me crave something so spontaneous and beautiful like the relationship they have.

Camryn is set on leaving her home, who finds herself stuck with Andrew on the bus to nowhere, who he later becomes her whole world.

I swear that I sometimes tell myself to not get too emotionally attached to the book and characters because I always end up in heartbreak or denial when the story ends; and that was exactly what happened here with this one!

“I think that if past lives are real then we have been lovers in every single one of them. I’ve known you for a short time, but I feel like I’ve known you forever.”

I felt so emotionally attached to Camryn in this book. I think that any teen/young adult who is lost in their own world, who want to escapee from real life and just get away can relate. Then again there were other things that made me see myself in her and it felt good knowing that I wouldn’t be the only one out there with the same thoughts and emotions as Camryn.

“Well, everybody needs help feeling alive again every once in a while.” “No,” she says seriously, and my gaze falls back on hers, “I didn’t say again, Andrew; for making me feel alive for the first time.” 

And as for Andrew, definitely another book boyfriend! From the very beginning he was already being that smart ass, funny, cool guy that drew you towards him but made you want to slap him in the face for his comebacks and remarks.

I think sometimes we all need an Andrew in our own lives. We need someone to make us feel free, make us want to run wild and think differently then what we are so used to doing in our ordinary lives…and that’s Andrew for you! It was just another reason why I fell in love with him, from the start.

“Just that dwelling and planning is bullshit, you dwell on the past, you can’t move forward. Spend too much time planning for the future and you just push yourself backwards, or you stay stagnant in the same place all your life. Live in the moment, where everything is just right, take your time and limit your bad memories and you’ll get wherever it is you’re going a lot faster and with less bumps in the road along the way.”

 This book is about living in the moment. Going day by day and seeing what new thing this day will provide you with! It’s so beautifully written, that it makes you forget about the world and live in Camryn’s and Andrew’s for just some time. If anything this book will teach you something, you might see life differently once you’re done drying the tears from your eyes once it is over, but I think that out of this story, you will stay with a memory or a thought about wanting to live and knowing how to do so when you need it the most.

“The mind may be what’s best, but I don’t give a shit what my mind is telling me anymore. Right now, I want to live in the moment.”

This book is such an AMAZING read, definitely one of my favorites ever! Highly recommend this book.

“You were the missing piece of my soul, the breath in my lungs, and the blood in my veins.”

Leave a Reply

