One Tiny Lie

17302495

“I don’t have all the pieces to fix this beautiful, trapped, broken man, but I do have one piece and it’s mine to give. For one night, for all nights. For however long he wants it. Me. Completely.”  -K.A. Tucker, One Tiny Lie

Rating: 5 out of 5

Goodreads Book Description:

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

 Valeria’s Book Review:

I thought that Ten Tiny Breaths had captured my heart…until I read One Tiny Lie!!!

This book captured my heart with every chapter that I finished!

One Tiny Lie is the second book to this beautiful series that follows Kacey’s sister on her own journey as she starts college. Livie and Ashton who are complete opposites, who might have more in common then they know, meet one night and everything changes…

I don’t quite know where to begin when it comes to Ashton…all I can say is that he is another book boyfriend to add to your list! And that not everything is what it seems when it comes to him.

“You said you wanted to forget everything. But…I don’t want you to ever forget a thing that happened between us. Ever.”
The most gentle of smiles passes over Ashton’s face. “Irish, if there’s one thing I’ve never been able to forget, it’s single second with you.”

Everyone has their secrets and demons that you don’t share with just anyone. Ashton can come off as the perfect, sexy, put together guy that has it all, but even he has things kept in the dark.

He’s broken and tortured in his own life…even though he comes off confident and hot with those flirty comments, the cute glances he throws at Livie, and that bright smile of his that he has at every minute,  there is something deeper behind his carefree exterior and when Livie shows up in his life, things change and he opens himself up to her which he had never done so before.

When his back story came out, I cried so much that it actually made my heart hurt!

Everything made sense and I got a better understanding as to why Ashton was the way he was. You should definitely expect the unexpected when it comes to K.A. Tucker and her writing!

“I know I shouldn’t ask, but I do it anyway. “What you said in that note. Why?”
He looks away for a moment and I watch his jaw clench. When he meets my eyes, there’s resignation there. “Because you’re not a one-night girl, Irish.” Leaning in to place a kiss on my jawline, he whispers, “You’re my forever girl.”

And as for Livie, I really liked reading about her journey starting college, as she tried to figure out what she wanted most out of her life.

She has always taken the safe road. The right road. So when she met Connor she knew that he was the one. He was the safe and perfect guy that she knew she would marry one day, and that was all she ever wanted. And clearly Ashton wasn’t.

Livie learns to let go of the perfect life that she envisioned and she begins to really live; she learns to choose with her heart over her head.

“I walk away. I walk away from the voices, the shouts, the disappointment.
I walk away from my deceptions, my mistakes, my regrets. I walk away from all that I am supposed to be and all I cannot be. For all of it is a lie.”

It’s a journey that we are taken on, and everything about it is just perfect. It is so beautifully written and nothing drags on as you finish each and every chapter!

There is definitely some hot and steamy scenes in this book, but it’s very tastefully written and not graphic. But trust me, you’ll feel it!

The whole theme of the story is to live and let go. You can’t live your life a lie, because everything isn’t kept in the dark for so long. Not everything in life is perfect and planning it out will only make things harder when reality and life comes at you with a different plan.

“Life has a funny way of creating it’s own tests. It throws curve balls that make you do and think and feel things that are in direct conflict with what you had planned and don’t allow you to operate in terms of black and white.”

Highly recommend this book, you will absolutely love it!! And you will absolutely love that we get to see a bit of Kasey and Trent in this book, so thank you again K.A. Tucker for an amazing reading experience once again!

Leave a Reply

