23492282

“He grabs the swing by the seat and it grinds to a halt. Oz’s fingers brush along the skin of my thigh.
My heart stutters. Stupid heart. Stupid short skirt. Stupid deep blue eyes and wild charcoal hair. Stupid, stupid, stupid me for licking my suddenly dry lips.”                    -Katie McGarry, Nowhere But Here

Rating: 3 out of 5

Goodreads  Book  Description:

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

Valeria’s Book review:

A book about family, love and trust! Katie McGarry does it again with this beautiful and suspense driven novel. Something different and exciting is what you will read in this new Thunder Road series involving the motorcycle club; Reign of Terror.

A motorcycle club. A hot and sexy blue eyed, black haired guy. And a girl who is trying to find herself in a world where family means everything, yet she didn’t know existed.

“This is your family … If you learn to love us then you will forever have our love in return.”

This new series had me intrigued the first moment I found out what it was going to be about. I was excited because I am a huge fan of Katie McGarry, and I’ve loved all  her books and her writing always gets to me!

“Running is still running. It doesn’t matter if it’s a physical move from one place to another or if it’s to within yourself.”

It’s something new and different, but with her usual style of romance included. I can’t say that Emily and Oz were my favorite characters this time, but I did like how they came around to loving each other and caring about one another as time went by.

They were two completely different characters, from two completely different worlds. And everything changes when Emily comes into his life.

“I will her to look away, but she doesn’t and I’m secretly proud the girl won’t back down. I hate this connection. I crave this connection. She’s continually messing with my head.”

Of course, there were a few things I didn’t like because if I liked everything, it would have been a 5 star book for me. I didn’t fall in love with Oz and Emily like I thought I would, I guess I just expected more romance from both ends.

There were many cute and flirty times between them, but something didn’t hook me to love them like I usually do with a lot of characters. It did switch back and forth to both POV’s, which I always love, so we get to see inside their heads.

This book was well written, but I’m not going to lie that it took me a while to finish. The story did drag on too much, and the pace was slow. Regardless of that, I finished it and the ending was definitely unexpected.

It does have its suspenseful moments, and it keeps you questioning everything.

And while everything made sense in the end with the mystery surrounding what happened in the past, getting there was tough for me and I was getting frustrated.

Overall, it was an okay book. I didn’t LOVE it like I thought I would, but it was a good read to add to my list!

“I like how you smile and how you laugh. I like how you love and defend your family and I like how you’re trying to love mine. I love how you trust. But mostly, Emily, I love you.”

I know that the series will continue, so I am definitely giving it a chance. I’m not giving up just yet!

Just like the Pushing the Limits series, the characters continue on the next book and will pop up eventually. I’m definitely looking forward to reading about Razor’s story next!!!

Stay tuned for a Walk the Edge book review!

2 thoughts on “Nowhere But Here

  1. I AM a sap when it comes to romances—especially with men like the one described in this book. I haven’t read any books like these recently, so I think it’s about time I did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

