ACTUAL

“He doesn’t know how determined I can be. Once I’ve made my mind up, I’m a force to be reckoned with.” -Paula Hawkins, The Girl on the Train

 

 Book Rating: 5 out of 5

 

Goodreads’ Book Description:

The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

 

Valeria’s Book Review:

Who can you really trust?  What goes on behind closed doors? How much can you ever really know a person?

An alcoholic, a liar and a cheat.

Rachel, Anna and Megan are the three woman who capture us from beginning to end and tell us their side of the story throughout the whole book.

Rachel had it all. She had the perfect husband, her dream home and a great job. After some time of not being able to have a child, things began to get rocky in their marriage and things started  going downhill which later leads to her excessive drinking.

Rachel is the girl on the train. She takes her mind off of her own life by imagining and assuming the lives of other people. So when the train stops at the same red signal every morning, Rachel is already looking out for the perfect couple who live at the house right outside her window.

“There’s something comforting about the sight of strangers safe at home.”

She names them, “Jess and Jason” who are this perfect couple, making up the story behind who they are and what they do in their everyday lives. She is so fascinated by them that in her head she believes that they are perfection, that that is what marriage should look like…

Until that morning. Things aren’t what they seem and Rachel sees something that shatters the perfect image she has of the couple inside her head.

“They’re what I lost, they’re everything I want to be.”

But everyone has a secret.

Expect the unexpected when it comes to this book. I don’t want to give anything away but this will be a mystery that will make you want to solve it yourself!

From the very beginning you think you have the clues figured out as to who did what, but you don’t know who to trust or who to believe in. Every character is just as crazy as the last but then things seem to add up. All the stories and clues that each character explains brings you to assume who might have done it…but then just when you think you have it all figured out you are completely taken aback from it all.

It is definitely a roller coaster of emotions and confusion that you will not see coming…

This book kept me on the edge! I’m not much of a mystery/thriller fan, but I was not disappointed. I loved every word and every page, and all the messed up characters. They are the ones who brought it to life and made the story much more fascinating.

We get three POV’s which I absolutely loved, I know it may sound complicated but it was so easy to follow that it gave you an insight as to what each character was going through. I loved everything about it and how detailed and well written it is.

All the characters are messed up and crazy in their own way. They all have their own personal issues which seems fucked up, but it is the reality of life and that is why I liked it even more. Everyone is hiding something and no one is perfect.

“But I did become sadder, and sadness gets boring after a while, for the sad person and for everyone around them.”

I felt for Rachel so much. She had it all, but she became a person difficult to love because she made herself get lost in her own world and never gave herself the chance to move forward and make her life after what happened with her marriage.

“When did you become so weak?”

I don’t know. I don’t know where that strength went, I don’t remember losing it. I think that over time it got chipped away, bit by bit, by life, by the living of it.”  

She made me feel so many different emotions, and even though you might see her as weak throughout the book, I feel as though she was the strongest of them all in her own way.

“I have lost control over everything, even the places in my head.”

Megan and Anna are the same as well. They have their own secrets and stories that you will read throughout the book and it makes you realize that it makes you question whether you really know someone.

“let’s be honest: women are still only really valued for two things—their looks and their role as mothers.”

This can happen to anyone. Even if it is fiction, things like this can happen. The reality of life is this, and once you read the book it will give you a better understanding of the struggles your mind can go through.

Secrets that were kept in the dark and now brought to light, making you fear for them because of the outcome that can happen because of the decisions and ideas that they have in their heads.

“I can’t do this, I can’t just be a wife. I don’t understand how anyone does it—there is literally nothing to do but wait. Wait for a man to come home and love you. Either that or look around for something to distract you.”  

I am very happy that I read this! Ever since it came out on the shelves, I wanted to get my hands on it but I kept putting it off. Until I saw a poster in theaters that the book was to become a movie and I went in and bought my copy the next day!

I highly recommend this book. There are a lot of comparisons to Gone Girl, which you will notice some similarities but you do not want to miss this or the movie that comes out in October!

I have the trailer and article posted on Book Announcements.

Go grab your copy today!

“I have to find a way of making myself happy, I have to stop looking for happiness elsewhere.”

Leave a Reply

