hty

“I gazed into her beautiful green eyes and her fear melted. A shy smile tugged at her lips and at my heart. Fuck me and the rest of the world, I was in love.” -Katie McGarry, Pushing the Limits

 

Book Rating: 5 out of 5

 

Goodreads’ Book Description:

“I won’t tell anyone, Echo. I promise.” Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. “You didn’t do that-did you? It was done to you?” No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.

So wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible. Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again…

 

Valeria’s Book Review:

I cannot put into words how much I freaking love this book series! Well I will try to, but my words won’t give the books justice until you actually read them!

Noah and Echo. I’m in love. In love with the characters, the book, the author…everything about this story had me wishing that I had my own Noah in my life.

This is the first book in the Pushing the Limits series that you do not want to miss!

Even though I read Dare You To first, I quickly went for this afterwards.

A beautifully told story of hardships, trust and love is exactly what you get from these two main characters. At a young age, both Noah and Echo are struggling with life, and when they come together they look after one another and find a way to get through the troubling times together.

“I watched you battle against the worst memory of your life and I watched you win. Make no mistake, Echo. I battled right beside you.”

 

Noah is the complete bad boy with a bad reputation, yet he has the biggest heart ever. He’s been through hell and back at such a young age, which makes him very mature and responsible. He had to be a parent to his younger brothers after their parents passed away.  The pressure is on him to prove that he is capable of keeping his family together by doing well in school, which is where Echo comes into his life when she has to tutor him for class.

“We’d read about sirens in English this fall; Greek mythology bullshit about women so beautiful, their voices so enchanting, that men did anything for them. Turned out that mythology crap was real because every time I saw her, I lost my mind.”

Echo on the other hand is funny and very sarcastic, and really feisty. She has a mind of her own and is such an amazing heroin that I loved her since the very beginning. After an incident occurs the night she almost died, she was left with scars both physically and mentally. She’s lost when she tries to think of what happened that night, and ever since then her life has never been the same. A small memory is all she can remember when she thinks back to those days…

 

“The worst type of crying wasn’t the kind everyone could see–the wailing on street corners, the tearing at clothes. No, the worst kind happened when your soul wept and no matter what you did, there was no way to comfort it. A section withered and became a scar on the part of your soul that survived. For people like me and Echo, our souls contained more scar tissue than life.”

 

Both Noah and Echo are such strong, loving and perfect characters. There’s a magnetic force that keeps pulling them together even when they can’t stand each other.

Noah is there for Echo, just as much as Echo is there for Noah. No matter what comes their way they are a team and together they try to make things work even when the whole world is against them. I saw just how much they needed each other, and how much they are meant to be. These are two strong young adults that are willing to make it through their own personal situations and overcome it all together.

And that alone will make you fall  in love with them both.

 

“She gave me the same smile I’d seen on Saturday night. That type of smile caused men to write those pussy-ass songs that Isaiah and I made fun of. I’d sit in Mrs. Collins’s office for hours and wake my ass up early to go to calculus in order to see that smile again.”

 

I love Beth and Ryan from Dare You To, but Noah and Echo have to be my next favorite couple in this book series.

“A warm, tickling touch crashed me back to earth. Maybe it sent me straight to heaven. Either way, it dragged me out of hell.”

After you finish this book make sure to read Breaking the Rules, where their story continues over the course of the summer just before they start college.

Thank you  Katie McGarry for this AMAZING book series! I will forever be obsessed with these books and your beautiful writing!

 “Wrapping my arms around her, I walked her backward into the brick. “Tell me you chose me, Echo.”
She licked her lips. Those green eyes smoldered, calling me to her. “I chose you.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

