11808950“Oh, dear Lord. I was in love with him. And there wasn’t a thing on earth, in heaven, or in hell that could have stopped me.”   -Wendy Higgins, Sweet Evil

 

Book Rating: 4 out of 5

 

Goodreads’ Book Description:

Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

 

Valeria’s Book Review:

Demons. Angels. Fallen Angels…and Nephilim. That seems about right.

This is exactly what you should expect when you dive into Sweet Evil and trust me I could not put this book down!

I think it was every single thing about this story; from the characters, to the plot, to Kaidan Rowe’s blue eyes that kept me turning the page again and again.

“…there is no way of truly knowing one’s heart until one is put to the test.”

Being the hopeless romantic that I am, I kept hoping and wanting more of the Kaidan scenes to come up to see what he would do to make my heart melt.

“Because all I could think about was you, Anna, and how good you are, and what you’d think of me. You put thoughts into my head a Neph shouldn’t have!”

This book felt like a combination of the Hush Hush series, with a little bit of the Fallen books too. Of course it is its own book, there is no way you can compare them all. But having read Hush Hush, I already had an idea with the terminology and basic good versus evil idea of angels and fallen angels because of it.

Even if you’ve never read anything like this, you are never lost. The book is well written and Higgins does a good job at explaining and covering everything to steer you away from any confusion. I never felt bored or had the need to stop. There was always something happening that kept me going and wanting more. The only thing I didn’t like were the comments that Anna would make when she was having her own thoughts. Just the phrases or words alone made me cringe, but everything else was perfect.

“But even the worst earthly pain and heartache doesn’t last into the heavenly realm. And it all serves a higher purpose.”

The story behind Anna is really interesting. We learn from the very beginning that she is different. She’s special in her own way, with powers that no one knows about. She’s pure at heart and too good for the world that she lives in. So when strange things begin to happen, she soon starts to discover who she really is, and you will be in for a good surprise.

“There was something about him that made me want to abandon all caution.”  

And when Kaidan Rowe the handsome, mysterious, bad boy drummer, full of lust shows up in Anna’s life, you know it is for a reason. Anna can’t stop thinking about him, and Kaidan can’t seem to keep away. So when they road trip across the country to meet Anna’s dad and figure out secrets from her life you know that something is bound to happen when they are stuck with one another for days straight.

“I felt you come alive when we kissed, and I know you’re afraid of that. Afraid to unleash that other side of yourself.”

 

Kaidan Rowe will swoon you from the very beginning. Everything about him screams danger, especially when you find out who he is and what he does for a living…but you will not want to keep your distance from him.

“She was mine. Didn’t she know that? Because my body was screaming it – demanding me to stake my claim on her.”

The ultimate bad boy, good girl story with a twist that will keep you reading and wanting more!

The ending was not was I was expecting or wanted at all…but you will definitely want more afterwards. I highly recommend this book and the entire series to anyone who is looking for an escape from reality and wants to enter an entirely different world from what we live in…then this is for you! Thank you Wendy for this beautiful book and story!

 

“If life was a game, like everyone said, then I wanted to win. I held up my hands to the heavens. Deal me in.”

 

Leave a Reply

