1406_SBR_MeganAbbottCOVER_jpg_CROP_original-original

“You spend a long time waiting for life to start—the past year or two filled with all these firsts, everything new and terrifying and significant—and then it does start and you realize it isn’t what you’d expected, or asked for.”    

-Megan Abbott, The Fever

Rating: 2 out of 5

 

Goodreads’ Book Description:

The panic unleashed by a mysterious contagion threatens the bonds of family and community in a seemingly idyllic suburban community.

The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie’s best friend is struck by a terrifying, unexplained seizure in class. Rumors of a hazardous outbreak spread through the family, school and community.

As hysteria and contagion swell, a series of tightly held secrets emerges, threatening to unravel friendships, families and the town’s fragile idea of security.

A chilling story about guilt, family secrets and the lethal power of desire…

Valeria’s Book Review:

An epidemic affecting high school girls, taking them down one by one?

“You’re all going down.” The other boy laughed, beats thrumming through the open mouths of his headphones. “One by one.”

Pretty much how it went down.

This was my first Megan Abbott book that I’ve read, and let me tell you that I can’t quite put into words how I feel about it…

I liked the book, it was something new and different.

I was excited because it had to do with mystery and suspense and I usually am not one to read those kinds of books. But to be honest it wasn’t what I had hoped for. I expected much more, both suspense and chilling scenes that would somehow keep me up at night and maybe even give me nightmares, but it wasn’t quite like that.

The book description and cover were what caught my attention but not even halfway through the book, I just wanted to stop reading it.

The writing was good, and the mystery behind it all was leading up to something big but it lacked on the chilling part of the story. I just imagined it more gruesome in a way. It was scary and weird how all the girls in school were all going through something freaky, and everyone was paranoid of who was to be next…

Family secrets are brought out, friendships are questioned and fingers are being pointed as to who did what. The ending was good. I don’t think anyone who read it expected it to turn out the way it did, but it does goes to show that you can’t trust those who say have your back. Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

Throughout the book we get three different POV’s. It goes from the main character Deenie, to Eli and her father Tom Nash. I liked getting to see how each character was going through something different, all while reading about the story as a whole. We get inside their heads and see how emotions and thoughts are portrayed by each character.

 “That she was both fearless and fragile and could be hurt badly in ways he could not fix.”

 

One of the main concepts that I liked was that family means everything. These main characters only have each other, so when this epidemic is happening you could see that family will always be there for you, especially in troubling times. Deenie had both her brother and father to look after her.

“Since then, he could only ever think about his sister, one wall away. And how he hoped Deenie never did things like this. With guys like him.”

I loved the fact that you are also able to see inside a teenage girls head, and what they go through at such a young age. It feels like so long ago that I went through that high school phase, but regardless it just goes to show what girls go through. Whether it is with friends, boy issues and even self discovery. It was very relatable reading through it thinking that you might have gone through that yourself, or a friend might have been in the same situation at some time. So I did like the reality and concept of Megan’s writing.

Overall, it wasn’t one of my absolute favorite reads but it got me out of my comfort zone to try something new that I would never just happen to pick up. If you do like mystery and drama all wrapped up in one, then this is a book that you might want to look into to!

 

Leave a Reply

